How to Survive Mercury Retrograde

“Acceptance doesn’t mean resignation; it means understanding that something is what it is and that there’s got to be a way through it.” Michael J Fox

Mercury Retrograde, it happens three to four times a year and for some it feels like everyday. When Mercury spins close to earths orbit at these times it appears to be spinning backwards which is why we call it retrograde. Of course it isn’t actually spinning backwards, but much like two trains passing it creates this illusion. Ah the word illusion, much of what we live in daily right?! 😉
Mercury rules communication, travel and technology. During retrograde these things fall off balance. Some retrogrades are worse than others, especially if you are ruled by Mercury (Gemini & Virgo) it can feel more intense for you. There is always a negative connotation for Mercury retrograde. But it truly is not a bad thing! It’s a great time for reflection, review, and revisiting things in our past. Sometimes you have to go backwards to launch yourself forward or as Frank Ferrante from May I Be Frank puts it, “transformation is not linear”. It’s a perfect time to hone in on your craft or practice. The perfect time to see how far you have come and where you may have fallen and also where you might want to begin to move towards. It’s almost like a review of what you have been learning but instead of being a student in a classroom with four walls you are a pupil of the universe and your curriculum is finding your life’s purpose and how you can continue to give your gift to the world throughout time.

But yes retrogrades can be rough, especially this one with an eclipse. I recently had the worst retrograde I’ve ever had in a while. My phone kept freezing, I would get texts late, people wouldn’t text back, I had two jobs cancel, lost out on money, auditions were horrible, miss-communication with my boyfriend, I was stressed and to top it all off I got a migraine that turned into a mild panic attack and I ended up vomiting all night before the eclipse. I’ve been calling it… “The Purge”. I was letting go of all the stress and sickness that no longer served me. During all this madness I learned some get tips on how to handle it.

  • Acceptance– Yes, we understand were in Merc-Ret, but how do I surrender? One thing after another kept happening. It builds and builds and finally it gets to a point where I must surrender and let go. My mantra is “I know it won’t always be like this and I know this will make me stronger.”
  • Reflection– I looked at each thing that was causing me stress and had to change the way I looked at my view and thoughts about it. So what I had two jobs cancel, money comes and goes and somehow I have always been supplied enough to have a roof over my head and something in my stomach. If it didn’t happen than it wasn’t meant to be. So I got in a fight with my boyfriend, in the end it only made us stronger and closer after we talked it out. So I had a horrible audition, there are about a trillion other variables of why it might of been better for me not to work that job. Maybe someone else really needed it, or maybe I would have had a poor experience working for the company. All I am trying to say is, it’s all perspective! So all the “off’s” or “bad things” are often blessings in disguise or at the very least small tests to see where we are at in our temperament and grounded demeanor. The more we can see things objectively and tweak them every time we get our test results back the more progress we can make without any pain. The moment ego gets involved we feel as though we are being picked on, or that life is horrible and random, things are bad and their is nothing you can do about it. Perspective allows us to choose how we want to look at certain things. The people that challenge us the most in our lives are our zen masters because they are showing us how easily we can get upset and how well we can come back to love and oneness. Either way its all valid, its just how you want to look at it. 
  • Understanding– To understand you’re not alone during this is always a great feeling. My girlfriend called me to check in on how I was doing and I told her I was “going through it” she said I was the third person to have spoken to her saying roughly the same thing. You’re never alone and the best part is getting help from friends and family. Venting to getting advise; we all have help and messages to share with others. “Your mess is your message” is one of my favorite saying. Throughout my journey through this retrograde I was continually reminded of how important it was for me to hear other peoples experience and for me to share mine. 
Leave a Reply

